Monday, June 26, 2017

"Always and Forever, Lara Jean" by Jenny Han Review

6:57:00 PM

30658022

Book: Always and Forever, Lara Jean

Author: Jenny Han

My Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis: Lara Jean’s letter-writing days aren’t over in this surprise follow-up to the New York Times bestselling To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You.

Lara Jean is having the best senior year a girl could ever hope for. She is head over heels in love with her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next door neighbor, Ms. Rothschild; and Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding.

But change is looming on the horizon. And while Lara Jean is having fun and keeping busy helping plan her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions she has to make. Most pressingly, where she wants to go to college and what that means for her relationship with Peter. She watched her sister Margot go through these growing pains. Now Lara Jean’s the one who’ll be graduating high school and leaving for college and leaving her family—and possibly the boy she loves—behind.

When your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?

      So I was initially not going to read this book because I was convinced I was not going to like it. I was not a fan of the second book of the trilogy (at the time it came out though it was a duology) so when I heard a third book was coming out, I was a bit weary of picking it up, and pushed it off to the side. I'm so glad I picked it up though because reading this book was exactly what I needed.


      What to say without spoiling anything... This book is everything I wished the previous book was. The first half of this book was a bit iffy for me because it seemed like there was no plot and I was getting a bit annoyed with Lara Jean which was my big problem with the previous book, but things got real and I really started enjoying the book.


     This book brought me back to my high school days and just filled me with feels. Even though overall I was not a fan of high school, I do miss somethings, and it was such a simpler time. I can remember graduating and me and my friends promising to stay friends forever. LOLOLOL now I legit only talk to one person I went to high school with and that's my best friend in the whole wide world. I mean, I don't even talk to my twin brother like I did before we graduated. High school was a less stressful time and I miss the way life was easier back then, though at the time I had no idea how easy it was. Basically, this book reminded me of all the feels of high school and the conflicted thoughts on graduation. Granted, I never had a boyfriend or a relationship of any sort like Lara Jean does, but still, the same overall feelings were there.


      I really enjoyed reading about Lara Jean and Peter's relationship. It's such a cute dynamic but it also has it's ups and downs, and I loved how Jenny Han showed those trials because I can imagine that's what real couples go through in such big life events such as graduation. Once again, I know nothing of that sort because I'm #foreveralone


      Writing-wise, the writing was eh, but I was expecting that based off the last book. Despite this, there were some really beautiful parts and times when the writing just got so real that I just had to stop and let myself deal with the emotions I was feeling and wrap my head around somethings.



      Overall, I really enjoyed this book which was a pleasant surprise. I'm glad I put off reading this book because right now was the perfect time for this sort of contemporary read in my life. I'm doing research this summer and I'm all by myself with no friends around, so I've had a lot of me time, more me time than I'm used to. I've always enjoyed being alone, but I've really started learning the difference between being alone and being lonely. Reading this book filled me with happy, summer vibes that I needed and makes me want to start doing things on my own.


      Everything aside, I truly believe this was the perfect ending for Lara's story. I am satisfied with how things ended and am really happy with how Jenny Han wrapped things up. This book did the story a justice that the previous book just couldn't do.


      So, have you read this book? If so, what are your thoughts? If not, have you read the other books in the trilogy? If you haven't, I highly recommend giving this series a try if you are looking for a feel-good summer contemporary read.

Friday, June 23, 2017

Friday Reads: 6/23/2017

7:29:00 PM

FRIDAY READS: 6/23/2017

      So I haven't been reading these past two weeks because I have been incredibly busy despite it being summer. My research is really picking up and the project is starting to get into full gear, so I have no time to read at work like I used to. What little time I do have at work I've been using to study for the MCAT. Even though I'm not taking it until January, it's better to start prepping sooner rather than later, especially since it is 7.5 HOURS LONG AND OVER LIKE 8 TOPICS!!! So by the time I get home from work, I am wrecked and just do not have the mental capacity or drive to read.


30658022

      I've decided to give reading a go today. I'm picking up "Always and Forever, Laura Jean", the third book in the "To All the Boys I've Loved Before" trilogy (series? who knows at this point because it was only supposed to be a duology". I loved the first book when I initially read it, though if I were to read it at this stage in my life I probably would not like it nearly as much. I was not that much of a fan of the second book, which you can read my review here if you want to know my thoughts on it. Honestly, I don't think I will be much of a fan of this third book either, but I need some light contemporary to fill my summer days and lift my daunting future off my shoulders.


What are you guys reading this weekend? Have you read any of the "To All the Boys I've Loved Before" books, specically the third book? If so, what were your thoughts? Tell me down below in the comments!

Sunday, June 18, 2017

I Need Some Time to Think/Changes on the Way

2:28:00 PM
   
 

    Hey you guys. So I wanted to make a quick post explaining my absence and my future hiatus. Right now I am at a point in my life where I am deciding where to put my time and effort into things. The things I once loved I don't love as much anymore and things I didn't know I would love I now love. I'm also at a point in my schooling where I really have to put my energy into looking towards the future.


      Now what does that have to do with this blog? I started off this blog as a purely book blog, a place where I could discuss my thoughts on books and bookish things because at the time I started this blog, books were almost all I had and encompassed a huge part of my life. I have now progressed through my life, and while I still love books, they are not as big as a love as they used to be. So, this summer I'm going to be rethinking this blog and what I want it to be. I will of course still talk about books because books are something that will never go away in my life, but I want to be able to discuss other things like movies, tv shows, pop culture, and general stuff going on in my life.



      I want to thank everyone who has stuck with me so far. You are part of the reason why I haven't just fully given up on this blog. I hope that you will continue to stick with me as I discover my new niche on this blog. If you aren't here for that, that's completely okay. I thank you for your time and I wish you nothing but the best in your blogish endavours.

Sunday, June 11, 2017

GlassesShop.com: Glasses Review and Promo Code

12:16:00 PM

      Hey you guys! So this post isn't within the normal stuff I usually post, but I just had to share this with you guys. 

     I was contacted by a representative from GlassesShop.com, an eyeglasses online shop about receiving and reviewing a free pair of eyeglasses. I was a little hesitant because a) I already have glasses, b) I'm not a fashion blog nor do I have a sense of style, and c) I didn't see the connection to my book blog. But then I realized, that most of you readers probably have prescription eyeglasses or use some sort of reading glasses. And even if you don't, you might be like me and want some sunglasses to read outside with during these nice summer months. So I asked them about sending me some prescription sunglasses and they sent them with no sweat! I just had to give them my prescription and pupillary distance. Above is a picture of me wearing the prescription sunglasses and below are some more pictures.



      I love these sunglasses! You guys have no idea how long it has been since I have worn sunglasses since I have prescription eyeglasses that I usually wear. These aren't too dark and I love the style. I was a little hesitant getting these because I usually like thicker frames, but I'm really happy with these. The great thing about GlassesShop.com is that they have a ton of styles to choose from, multitudes of different lens types, a cool tool you can use to see how the glasses might look on you, and your glasses come with a free case and cleaning cloth!

      As a gift to you guys, I have a code to share with you guys for you to get 50% off eyeglasses or sunglasses with free lens (sale frames excluded)! That code is GSHOT50. And even more exciting, is GlassesShop.com offers one free pair of glasses per customer and prescription for those getting their first pair with code FIRSTFREE!


      So whether you are in need of some new prescription eyeglasses, want to give prescription sunglasses a try like me, need reading glasses because of all the summer reading you're about to do, or just want some nice looking glasses to look great in your bookstagram pictures, GlassesShop.com has options for you. Their options are cheap and perfect for introverts like us who don't like going physically shopping.



Disclaimer: I was not paid to make this post. I only received a free pair of prescription sunglasses in exchange for an honest review and promotion of their website.

Friday, June 2, 2017

Friday Reads: 6/2/2017

7:44:00 PM

FRIDAY READS: 6/2/2017

      Looking back into my archives, the last time I did a Friday Reads was February 22nd or something like that. Am I surprised? No. Am I sorry? No. Good, now that we have that addressed, let's move on, shall we?



     So with my summer research internship, I've had a surprising amount of time to do reading which will be evident when I put up my May Wrap Up. So much reading, that I have surprised my reading goald of 50 books! Granted, most of what I read were single graphic novel issues, but damnit those count!



    This week (might have been the end of last week), I started "Into the Light" and it is quite the interesting read. For those of you who are unaware, my greatest bookish love before I was introducted to YA novels is mystery/thriller. I've been enjoying those since I was like eight. 

27309432


     "Into the Light" basically surrounds this cray cray religious cult set in Alaska with three POVs, one from a guy in the cult, another from a girl who has been abducted into the cult but has no memory so she doesn't know she is in the cult (also, did I mention the guy told her she is her husband and she just believed him with no further explanation or demand for photos??? Like, she's fucking this guy thinking he's her husband despite having no memories of him...), and finally our third POV is from a journal investigator in Detroit (which lol if the author thinks they are acurately portraying Detroit). 



     I'm quite enjoying this book. It is not without its faults, but it is so interesting. Like all I want to know is what is going to happen. Will Sara (the girl with no memories) gain her memories back and escape the cult? Why her? How is this cult functioning the way it is? I've got a lot of questions that need answers. 


     
     So what are you guys readin today or this weekend? Got any good recommendations? I've been so out of the bookish loop that I have no idea what's good that out or what the new releases are.

Monday, May 22, 2017

February, March, April 2017 Mini-Wrap Up

9:30:00 AM

FEBRUARY, MARCH, & APRIL 2017 MINI-WRAP UP

February
I read a lot of graphic novels in February, and all exclusively on February 16th, which was a Thursday. I have no idea why I read so many graphic novels that day or how I even had the time to do all that reading. I mut have skipped all of my classes that day...

33790316 34094240 33836740 34312582 30983255 31752495 32033450 32612120 32933014 29430742

I really do love the "Saga" and "Giant Days" series. If I had to pick one, I would probably say I love 'Giant Days" more though because I can relate to them so much as a college student and I just love their journies of self-discovery and friendship. I don't even really like the new Spider-Man series that much, so I'm not sure why I'm still reading it. I guess mainly because I feel compelled to see it through to the end. As for "Around the Way Girl", I listened to it on audiobook and thought it was alright. I love Taraji P. Henson, but her book was eh.

March
I didn't do a lot of reading at all in March. Like at all...

30724132 60931 34396913

I was sent an ARC of "Geekerella" for an honest review by Quirk Books and quite enjoyed it. It was a sweet, concise, contemporary read. As for "Kindred", the only reason I read that book was for class, and believe me when I say if I didn't have to read it for class, I would have DNFed that sucker one chapter in.

April

27431992

Yeah... So I only read one book in April and it was for my god-awful sociology class. I hated that class with a burning passion. However, I really enjoyed this book which I so did not expect since my professor was a quack. There were many insights and interesting stories in this book.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, that's how the last few months of reading have been for me. Hopefully you guys had more fruitful months of reading and enjoyed what you read. Real talk though, you should give "Giant Days" a chance.

FOLLOW @ INSTAGRAM

My Rating System

★★★★★ This book is a gift from the literary gods
★★★★ This book was pretty damn good
★★★ This book had potential but missed the bar
★★ I probably didn't finish this book or it was god awful
★ Why does this book exist?

Recent

Pageviews

Random